What’s Good in the Neighborhood Dec 3, 2018

2018-12-04T02:47:37+00:00

A Look Ahead This Thursday, December 6th, 6:00-8:00 -- Trimester One Arts Showcase This Friday, December 7th, 2:30-3:15 -- Buddy Day Hour(ish) of Code (we need volunteers to help prepare this week. Email anovak@cityneighborshamilton.org if you can help out on your own time between today and Friday) Monday, December 10 -- New Middle School electives begin Tuesday, December 18, 6:30-7:30 -- Puerto Rico planning and fundraising meetings Friday, December 21, 1:00 -- Early Dismissal for the start of Winter Break!! Wednesday, January 2 -- Classes resume   Are you fully present with your loved ones?     On Sunday, I had the [...]

What’s Good in the Neighborhood Dec 3, 20182018-12-04T02:47:37+00:00

What’s Good in the Neighborhood, November 19, 2018

2018-11-19T19:30:08+00:00

  Monday, Nov 19 Tuesday, Nov 20 Wednesday, Nov 21 Thursday, Nov 22 Friday, Nov 23 3rd Grade Field Trip 9:45-11:45 1 PM Dismissal (every Wednesday) SCHOOL CLOSED  Thanksgiving SCHOOL CLOSED Thanksgiving      Week 12 One evening, when I lived in New York City, I was sitting on the 1 train heading home after meeting up with friends after work on Friday evening.  Fridays were usually a night I didn't go anywhere after a week of teaching; they were usually used to collapse and recuperate! This had been a particularly challenging week -- one of those weeks when you question your effectiveness as an educator. So there [...]

What’s Good in the Neighborhood, November 19, 20182018-11-19T19:30:08+00:00

What’s Good in the Neighborhood, November 12, 2018

2018-11-14T22:05:49+00:00

  Monday, Nov 12 Tuesday, Nov 13 Wednesday, Nov 14 Thursday, Nov 15 Friday, Nov 16 First Grade to Oakcrest 1-2:30 1 PM Dismissal (every Wednesday) Open Mic Rehearsals 1 -2:30 Auditorium Second Grade to Oakcrest 9-10:30 School Picture retakes All School, Open Mic Week 11 As a child, I remember school as something you wanted to be good at and do well in, but I don't remember school being a place where we regularly left the classroom and engaged with anything real in the world around us. As an early teacher, I thought that a room full of engaged students meant that they were paying [...]

What’s Good in the Neighborhood, November 12, 20182018-11-14T22:05:49+00:00